The connect / autoconnect system will work a bit differently tomorrow (3/19):
– The submenus are gone from the accounts in the File menu. Just choose “Connect (your account name)” or “Disconnect(your account name)”.
– There’s a new checkbox in the Accounts preference pane, “Restore previously connected accounts on launch.” This is disabled by default. If you enable it, any accounts which were signed on when you quit Adium will be connected automatically when you next launch Adium.
– If you disable this checkbox, you will have to manually connect accounts when you launch Adium.
Try using the new system and see how you like it. There’s a thread in the forums to post opinions and suggestions, but please use this for a day or so before deciding.